top of page

What We're Watching (Kids Favs)

After the last post, I thought maybe I should talk a little about what my kiddos are enjoying these days. Along with Pokemon, Slugterra, and My Little Ponies: Friendship is Magic, movies are the big thing in my house. We watch a movie every day at lunch time. This started when I was a mother of one, we'd watch a movie while eating lunch and finish it up while cuddling on the couch which eased us into nap time in a more organic way. Now I'm a mother of three, of which only one naps anymore, but it's still a nice way to have some quiet in the middle of the day. So every day, the older two get to decide on a movie for us to watch. Sometimes they'll take turns (first one, then the other) but usually they have to find a movie they both agree on. So here are some of the current favorites...

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is one of my five year old Corbin's favorite movies. It's long (two and a half hours) but he'll watch the whole thing start to finish with barely a blink. This movie showcases Dick Van Dyke. It's hilarious and fun and musical and includes pirates and a flying car. What's not to like?

I ain't afraid of no ghosts! And neither is Corbin! He LOVES this movie. Alice likes it but Corbin would watch it every day if given the option. We went to see the new Ghostbuster movie this summer and we all enjoyed it. Corbin keeps mentioning that it's been a long time since we've seen it. I currently have it on hold at the library, just waiting for it to come in. (We own the original.)

Alice's favorite movie at the moment is probably The Book of Life. While we don't own this one, she checks it out from the library almost monthly. This movie is a lot of fun. The animation is pretty neat and the story takes several twists that we didn't expect the first time. Also, the music sticks with you. Overall, it has the message of being true to yourself and standing up for yourself. Not bad themes.

Another favorite of my nine year old daughter is Hairspray. Now, as a woman who is...shall we say...not petite, this movie is very affirming. And my daughter, who is pretty petite, thinks it's a lot of fun. The music is great, the messages are positive, and John Travolta is simply fantastic as Edna Turnblatt. Also, Alice tells me, backstage before ballet performances (Nutcracker's coming up!) everyone apparently runs around screaming "Hairspray" and spraying each other. Alice sings the song from the movie.

The Lorax is a perennial favorite of all my kids. The story line is fun and very Seuss-ian. Danny Devito is great as the Lorax. The music from this movie will stick with you so it's best to just give into it. Also Betty White as Granny is uproariously hilarious.

Lastly, Aleksander. At not quite sixteen months, Aleksander's not really into watching movies yet. However, on Netflix there is a show called Beat Bugs that he likes. The show incorporates Beatles music quite beautifully. It's the only show, other than Sesame Street, that can reliably keep his attention for more than a couple minutes.

And what about me? Well, in the evenings when all children are in bed, I'm generally not watching movies. I'm watching Netflix. And I'm currently watching Murdoch Mysteries (1890's Toronto forensic detective show), American Horror Story (I just started Season 5, Hotel), and Gilmore Girls (the NEW mini-movies start November 25!!) Any questions about any of these? Or suggestions? I'd love to chat!

This


Meet Me!

I'm Elizabeth LenZ - EZ

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page