top of page

Rosh Hashanah and Trying New Recipes!

The High Holy Days are (mostly) over! Which means schedules can begin to return to normal. Yay! Don't get me wrong, I do enjoy the High Holy Days, the services are beautiful and meaningful, the time with family and friends is memorable, and the start of a new year is invigorating. But as the mother of 3 young kiddos, having a mixed up schedule can be difficult.

But on to the fun! We invited a bunch of friends over for dinner after the final service for Rosh Hashanah. It's traditional to eat apples and honey on Rosh Hashanah so I dug through my recipes and my Facebook saves to see what I could find. And find things I did!

Firstly, since we were having people over pretty much right after Taschlich, I made most of the recipes as much as possible the day (and night) before. In fact, I was up at 2 am rolling out pie crust. Such is my life. I made Moravian Chicken Pie, a recipe I got from America's Test Kitchen. It is my husband's favorite meal. I had to make 2 of them and I had to adjust one considerably as one of my guests has a severe milk allergy. I subbed goat-yogurt for the sour cream and shortening for the butter and coconut milk for half and half. It made the crust a lot softer but it all turned out well and I'm told tasted just as good as the original.

My chicken prep station

Then I made some Facebook recipes! The appetizer I made is an apple, honey, and brie cheesey pull-apart bread. It turned out fabulously! I barely got any. You can find the recipe here. For dessert I made apple crisp cookie cups, you can get that recipe here. I will definitely be making there recipes again! In fact, I was asked to make the bread just last weekend which I did, again, to rave reviews.

Cookie Crisps!

The last one, served with whipped cream

I also made deviled eggs, always a favorite. Especially for my kiddos. I had people bring drinks and veggies/salads. Lastly, just to double check that we all had our apples and honey, I made a honey cup out of an apple (see picture) and then cut apple slices to dip into it. This was SO much easier than I expected it to be. I cut off the top of the apple then, using a mini-ice cream scoop that I use for making cookies, I scooped out the inside of the apple and filled that sucker with honey. It worked beautifully.

More Prep!

Honey bowl out of an apple!

I love throwing dinner parties...I just need to remember to take pictures before unleashing my loved ones on the food. Any questions? And suggestions for future recipes? Let me know!


Meet Me!

I'm Elizabeth LenZ - EZ

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page